Magic Moments

I took the following picture during a period break on Friday morning. At first glance it appears to be a typical scene of school children making the most of 5 minutes out of class, but as I looked closer I had to smile as I discovered a cluster of individual images captured in one. Three boys prepare to take each other on for a good tousle while a girl looks on with interest. Another little boy has his playmate pinned to the ground. One little girl stands seemingly caught in her own world regardless of the rolling classmates at her feet. In the background one student sets off at a run and two girlfriends stroll the grounds together.DSCN3615

A second and third photo produced more priceless scenes.

DSCN3619

I love to watch the children play. The school ground is a place of magic moments. The expressions on the children’s faces and interactions between them are a joy to observe. The sound of laughter and happy voices gives you the same feeling you get when you listen to a cheerful bouncing jig.

DSCN3618

As I watched the students play on the grass last Friday thoughts played in my mind.

We are often taught to keenly examine and critic exteriors but to leave the cutting knife in its sheaf. We forget to look closely and appreciate deeply the smaller, less observable things in life. We recognise and thank God for the big blessings He sends, like providence for our physical needs, close friends, loving family members. But what about that kind word, or drop of rain? Perhaps God is saying, “I prepared that smile just for you.” Or “I helped you remember that answer on your exam.”

Look deep.

Search for the little blessings, the magic moments. Rediscover unnoticed gifts.

I'd love to hear from you all from across the ocean!